Self Esteem

April 30, 2009 at 2:57 pm 1 comment

“Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.”

“The way you treat yourself sets the standard for others.”

 

What does self esteem mean to me?

Is it about building the “EGO” to a larger than life image? I don’t think so… I know many such people who seem to be on a roller-coaster rider of emotions. They end up making their life as well as other’s life miserable.

 

I definitely cannot say that a very “rich” person or a very “healthy” person always has high self-esteem.

 

So, when one says that one holds oneself in high esteem what does it actually mean.

 

Well, according to me, self esteem is about being in perfect harmony with myself. It is about accepting the positives and the known negatives and acting in a dignified homogenous manner when alone or in the presence of an audience; about facing the 2 impostors called success and failure with an equanimous mind unruffled by the amount of joy or sorrow that each might bring knowing full well that the “stuff” that I am made of has changed 0% by these beguilers; about understanding that the quality of life that I lead is 100% my own doing; about “standing up” to the situations and taking full responsibility for all actions good or bad instead of shifting the blame else where; about believing that there is no result that is impossible provided I put in the necessary effort towards the same;

 

Life is a precious gift and my goal(not yet reached there but striving to) is to be in perfect harmony with every second that life has to offer.

 

I would like to close with my favorite quote by Rudyard Kipling

“If you can walk with the crowd and keep your virtue, or walk with Kings-nor lose the common touch; If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you; If all men count with you, but none too much; If you can fill the unforgiving minute with 60 seconds worth of distance run- Yours is the earth and everything that’s in it, And-which is more-you’ll be a man my son.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What you really want is what you actually get… What I feel about criticism…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Subha  |  May 4, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    You hit the nail on the head when you said that rich or healthy people may not necessarily have high self esteem. I think that most people that brag about those things have low self esteem cos they might be compensating for something else they feel insecure about.

    However, a healthy self esteem might translate to overall well being interms of health and wealth and that may not be such a bad thing!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

April 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930